A body mechanic – the ABC method

Standard

I had to renew the registration on my car recently which involved taking it to a mechanic and getting him to assess the roadworthiness of it.  Watching him go about his business so smoothly and efficiently, I could tell he had done this many times before.  He knew exactly what to look for and what was ‘right’ or ‘off’.  He could literally see into the vehicle and tell from rather subtle-to-me clues what he was looking for.  I asked some questions and he showed me a few things to which I just stared blankly  I didn’t understand.

 

I could tell that his physical condition was not quite as good but that he was unaware of some of his own holding alignments and patterns or did not know how to readjust them. 

 

Then I realised that he was only a car mechanic but that I’d become a people mechanic.  I could do the same things he just did but only with a human body.  I could assess someone’s breathing or symptoms from seeing the underlying cause.  Sometimes the clues are subtle but to the trained eye, they are actually rather obvious because I have been taught what to look for. 

 

So exercise, alignment and breath work can easily be prescribed depending on the readiness, willingness and dedication of the person coming to me for my services.  People are often surprised by how simple (but not necessarily easy) some of the solutions I provide are.  You must fix the problem, the blockage, at the source rather than downstream where the effects are felt.  Only such a solution can prove to be effective in the long run and more often than not it’s the subtle connections of alignment or breathing patterns that are called for.  There’s no point putting a bigger engine in your vehicle if your wheel alignment is all over the shop.

 

The corrective work requires awareness, hands on guidance, a lot of practice and letting go.  Yet some of the benefits can be derived straight away.

 

Align. Breathe. Connect.

Simple but not easy.

Yet the only sustainable way to reclaim your strength.

Leave a comment